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® Guidelines for the Option to Advance the Ball
Prepared by Jon Levinson, NCAA Women’s Basketball Secretary-Rules Editor

What is the rule?

e During the last 59.9 seconds of the game (fourth period or any extra period) when the
team in control of the ball, or the team who is to be awarded a throw-in in their
backcourt, is granted a timeout, the team will have the option to move the throw-in
spot to a point 28 feet from the end line on either side of the playing court.

e The game time when the timeout is granted and charged, and not the time that team
control began, will determine whether the option is available to the team calling
timeout.

e An opponent’s timeout or an electronic-media timeout does not provide a team with
the option to advance the ball (unless the electronic-media timeout is a result of the
team in control requesting a timeout, e.g., the first team-called timeout in the second
half).

e If the team advances the ball by a pass or dribble, in any direction, before the timeout
is granted, the team will no longer have the option to advance the ball.

¢ |f the ball has been dribbled or passed in the backcourt before the timeout, successive
timeouts do not provide the team with the option to advance the ball.

o If the ball has been dribbled or passed in the backcourt and the team in control is still in
their backcourt when the defense commits a common foul before the bonus is in effect
or a violation, the option is available to the team in control when they request a
timeout.

e If the ball has been dribbled or passed in the backcourt and play is stopped for a timing
or scoring mistake, an inadvertent whistle, a held ball, an administrative technical foul
assessed to the team in control, or for an injury, blood situation or lost or displaced
glasses/lenses and the team in control calls a timeout, the option to advance is NOT
available.

* The head coach must notify the officials of his/her intent to advance the ball, or which
side of the court to make the throw-in, before the timeout has been reported to the
scorer. If the head coach does not inform the officials before the timeout has been
reported to the scorer, play will resume at the point of interruption. When the head
coach does not designate a side of the court to inbound the ball before the timeout is
reported to the scorer, the throw-in will be made at the 28-foot line tableside.
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Plays:
Play 1: Following a made goal by Team A with 49.9 seconds remaining in the fourth

period, Team B immediately calls timeout. May Team B advance the ball to the throw-in
spot 28 feet from the end line on either side of the playing court?

Ruling 1: Yes, provided the head coach of Team B notified the officials of his/her use of
the option before the timeout was reported to the scorer.

Play 2: If in Play 1, Team A (the team that scored) calls the timeout, does Team B have the
option to advance the ball?
Ruling 2: No, unless Team B calls a timeout after Team A’s timeout.

Play 3: Al secures a rebound in her backcourt with 1:05 remaining in the fourth period.
She holds the ball for 8 seconds when the head coach of Team A calls timeout. Does Team
A have the option to advance the ball to the throw-in spot 28 feet from the end line on
either side of the playing court?

Ruling 3: Yes. The determining factor as to when the option is available is the time on the
game clock when the timeout is granted and charged.

Play 4: Al, dribbling in her frontcourt, has the ball stolen from her by B1. B1 does not
pass or dribble the ball. Team B calls a timeout with 30.2 seconds remaining in the game.
May Team B advance the ball?

Ruling 4: Yes.

Play 5: Team A inbounds the ball following a successful field goal with 45.5 seconds
remaining in the game. While Al is dribbling in her backcourt:

(1) Is fouled by B1 before the bonus is in effect for Team A;

(2) B1 commits a kick-ball violation;

(3) B1 causes a held ball and the alternating-possession arrow favors Team A;
(4) There is a timing or scoring mistake;

(5) The official has an inadvertent whistle;
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(6) A2 is injured, bleeding, or has a lost or displaced lens.

If Team A calls a timeout, do they have the option to advance the ball?

Ruling 5: In (1) and (2), Team A has the option to advance the ball. While Team A has
advanced the ball in their backcourt by a dribble or pass, because there was a foul or
violation by Team B which causes a throw-in in the backcourt, Team A will have the option
to advance the ball if Team A calls a timeout. In (3), (4), (5) and (6), if Team A calls a
timeout, they will not have the option to advance the ball.

Play 6: Al is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball:
(1) Into Team A’s backcourt and Al secures control of the ball or
(2) Into Team A’s backcourt and the ball goes out of bounds.
If Team A calls a timeout, do they have the option to advance the ball?
Ruling 6: In (1), Team A does not have the option to advance the ball, as there has been
no change in team control when Al secured control of the ball. In (2), Team A does have

the option, as B1's knocking the ball out of bounds (violation) caused there to be a throw-
inin Team A’s backcourt.
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